A Sense of Wonder

DSC_3480 edit

This aquariam tunnel was so cool to walk through and see all sorts of different sharks and creatures. It was so fun to hear the kids oohing and aahing at what we saw! :)

The magical sense of wonder that children have is one my favorite things about them. The littlest things can make them so excited, and a new experience may be talked about for weeks. I feel that as we get older, we lose this and start to see things as mundane. We lose our sense of wonder over the little things, and I really think that when you lose this excitement of life its all too easy to get bored with life in general, and wish for something else. (and discontentment is essentially unthankfulness, and all this leads to being unhappy, etc…)

One of the worst areas of life to lose your sense of wonder is spiritually. Sometimes I think back to when I first got saved and how the Bible became so much more alive. I felt like it was a completely new book to me, and I was always filled with wonder and excitement when I read it. It’s all too easy to drift away from that, but thankfully the Lord is never the one that leaves us. It is us who start to slip back, but we are promised that if we “ Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you.” (James 4:8)! So that doesn’t have to be a thing of the past, it can be like that all the time!

Or how about at church? Do you sit in rapt attention, waiting to hear what the Lord has for you in the sermon, like a child hearing from their favorite story book? Or is your mind wandering to think about the latest movie you watched, what you’ll have for dinner, your plans for the week, ect?

The words to the song “The Wonder of It All” say it all so well:

There’s the wonder of sunset at evening,
The wonder as sunrise I see;
But the wonder of wonders that thrills my soul
Is the wonder that God loves me.

Refrain
O, the wonder of it all! The wonder of it all!
Just to think that God loves me.
O, the wonder of it all! The wonder of it all!
Just to think that God loves me.

Verse 2
There’s the wonder of springtime and harvest,
The sky, the stars, the sun;
But the wonder of wonders that thrills my soul
Is a wonder that’s only begun.
— George Beverly Shea

Don’t ever let yourself lose that childlike sense of wonder!

Leave a Reply

